Summary: slide, 35mm colour slide, Newlands Manor, Everton, seen up drive, taken by Arthur Lloyd, 1991
Identification note: The origins of Newlands Manor are rather obscure, but Sir John Hadley D’Oyly, who also owned Newtown Park, built a house there between 1785 and 1793. There are stories of a thatched farmhouse. When the property was leased to Admiral Cornwallis in 1800, it was described as a ‘messuage or mansion house with outhouses, yards, garden and fishponds, in all 62 acres’. There was a serious fire in 1802, which destroyed much of the building. Admiral Cornwallis bought the freehold, and went about reconstruction. It is built in ‘Strawberry Hill Gothic’ style referring to the design of the house built by Sir Horace Walpole. It is an early example of ‘Gothic Revival’ architecture, which spread throughout England in the latter half of the 18th century as part of the Romantic Movement. Strawberry Hill has a castellated roofline with pinnacles, finials, ‘Tudor’ chimneys and ‘medieval’ battlements, and windows with Gothic arches. Inside, the fireplaces, windows, doors and ceilings were inspired by medieval tombs, arched doorways, rose windows and carved screens. Newlands was both picturesque and practical, with the main rooms facing south towards the sea and the sun. It was principally built of brick, which was rendered to look like stone. Stone was only used for the pinnacles and decoration.